Lake dock…

Diem Jones
2 min readMar 5, 2017

--

Image: Akiva Huber

I enjoy laying down as it allows my perspective to shift, but the late, great Otis Reading’s classic song, “Sitting By the Dock of the Bay,” rings loudly in my ears.

The operative verbs in both musings, laying and sitting, have the objective: Stillness! Being still seems contrary to the idiom of the televised world, as we are programmed to keep “it” moving — physically, emotionally, spiritually and in our communications {sic}, or lack thereof. Stillness, like all things, has it’s virtues and we are programmed to resist…like my father telling me NOT to ever become shiftless. Hmmmmm

Peace Stand Still! When we are able to claim a slice of peace, let’s learn how to cradle and foster it to multiply to “peace credits” so we can stockpile them and recall on demand. Peace Stand Still!

My found stillness, like the calm before a storm, is a contemplative planning time which I cherish enormously. I rise before the sun to claim a quiet, peaceful slice of life. This prepares me for a propelling day that has a roadmap, which I may deter from, but my stated intentions and goals remain unshakably solid.

My day-prayer for the world is that all of it’s “children” find a peaceful moment or few, to build up steam as the road ahead requires focus.

My intention is to mention that I love me, we and us…hoping we all can claim a seat on this bus.

ready, set…gogettemgone?

--

--

Diem Jones

Diem Jones is a poet, musician, multi-media artist, and arts administrator. He is also co-founder and past of E.D. VONA/Voices (VONA) and Murray Gove.